Kid chaos in the kitchen

It’s the weekend!

It’s time to slow down the usual morning rush around and enjoy the comforts of being at home…but I soon get itchy fingers and want to get baking! It’s the weekend and weekends mean the kids get to bake too!

My 3 young children Tom, Robin and Libby see me baking ALOT, and often sit and watch, stir, throw things in the bowl, pester me until I forget what I’m doing and wait around until it’s licking time…the bowl that is! Sometimes I banish them from the kitchen altogether if what I’m doing is for a client or is very important, and that makes me feel bad because they want to learn, but because of all the questions, and pestering, and poking, and licking, sometimes its just not feesible, so out they go!…until the weekend!

Questions, pestering, poking and licking!

So this weekend we decided to make a Treacle Spiced Traybake ..(insert yummy, yummy noises here…)

It’s a really easy recipe that involves putting 8 ingredients in a bowl and mixing like crazy!

So I put my 6 year old in charge of the weighing scales, (this will obviously help with his maths I’m thinking) and my 5 and 2 year old in charge of dumping in the ingredients and mixing!

Weighing out is great for number recognition, adding and subtracting!gingerbread traybake-2.jpg

Of course there’s always one who doesn’t like their designated job and soon starts to squawk and chirp about the fact that “Libby is mixing too hard and I can’t get my spoon in”..or  “why has Libby got to break in 2 eggs and I’ve only got to break in 1?” (cos theres 3 kids and 4 eggs love and she’s the cutest, decision made) .

Remember your baking ‘memories’

In all seriousness though, baking with children is a fantastic shared experience, you’re giving them a skill for life and hopefully providing happy memories (unless I’m your Mum  and then you get some nice memories followed by a personality change into Gordon Ramsey when my OCD kicks in about how much mess 3 kids can make in half an hour! )But honestly, if you can stop worrying about how much mess it makes, and time (it takes sooooo much longer!), the experience you get when baking with children is amazing, and they amaze themselves too when they see what a few simple ingredients make.

If you are a brilliant parent you can actually get your children to clean up with you afterwards, but my kids are too busy licking the 20,000 spoons they have used and any cake batter that has happened to fall on the counter with their tongues! gingerbread traybake-3.jpg

When we finished our bake I said to my children, so ‘who’s had fun?”

 

3 little hands went up…and thats why we bake x

gingerbread traybake-4.jpg

Recipe -Treacle spiced traybake

Ingredients

225g soft margarine

175g caster sugar

225g black treacle

275g self-raising flour

2 tsp baking powder

4 eggs

4 tablespoons milk

Icing sugar to finish

Method

Pre-heat oven to Fan 160, 180, gas 4.

Grease and base line a 12 x 9 inch tray with greaseproof paper.

Measure all ingredients into a bowl and beat well for  2 minutes until well blended.

Turn the mixture into the prepared tin and bake for 40 minutes.

Leave to cool in the tin.

Finish with water icing or a dust of icing dust of icing sugar, whichever your preference.

Leave a Reply

